Brand new Build dead/no post after 1 week

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jared Potter

Dabbler
Hello all, I'm new to this Forum as I usually direct my questions/problems to the NCIX Forum but since I'm new to FreeNAS/ NAS's in general I figured I should direct my questions here as well even though the problem is mostly hardware... However there have been some "security" emails sent each night that might be the system telling me there was a problem... Not that I have yet been able to figure out what most of the data means yet. (Yay learning!) Thanks for your help, sorry this is a copy and paste from the other post and is hastily edited.

So last week...to the day... I built my first NAS using FreeNAS Everything's been working pretty smoothly learning as I go along and finding I get a nightly report emailed to me with mostly useless information(to me at least) A couple times I've gone to access the NAS and found it powered down but with no real information as to what has happened I've just assumed it crashed. Powers up and resumes without a problem. SMART checks and scrubs all come back clean but a couple times I've received a "security report" with this:

Quote:

> (ada1:ahcich1:0:0:0): WRITE_FPDMA_QUEUED. ACB: 61 00 18 a2 60 40 a5 00 00 01 00 00
> (ada1:ahcich1:0:0:0): CAM status: Uncorrectable parity/CRC error
> (ada1:ahcich1:0:0:0): Retrying command

coming up three times, one each night in a row.

Upon doing research most people say it's probably a faulty cable but they also report dozens or hundreds of these errors. I only get one... and when I did a scrub and a short SMART test both came back clean. They recommended replacing the SATA cable as an easy suggestion. That was what I was going to do today before the system failed.