Booting stuck at "Import ZFS pools" on Scale 21.06

masru

Dabbler
I got the same issue, I was updating from BETA 2.

I am able to boot into the BETA.2 -- everything looks shiny there, all pools accessible.

Last edited:

masru

Dabbler
Ok, I booted into BETA.2 and checked the pool status. Only one of several pools shows a warning:
Code:
  pool: somename01
 state: ONLINE
status: Some supported and requested features are not enabled on the pool.
        The pool can still be used, but some features are unavailable.
action: Enable all features using 'zpool upgrade'. Once this is done,
        the pool may no longer be accessible by software that does not support
        the features. See zpool-features(7) for details.
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 17:06:34 with 0 errors on Tue Sep 28 06:50:53 2021

Could it be that this warning prevents RC1 from importing the pools and finish booting?

JJGadgets

Cadet
I am new to TrueNAS, and wanted to use it virtualized in Proxmox (passthrough HBA via IOMMU) instead of letting Proxmox handle my data drives (Proxmox & VMs are on a mirror NVMe). Installed SCALE, and this is my maybe 6th reboot when this occurred to me too. Just registered an account to throw my experience in.

I then booted the ISO since it also has ZFS, and forcefully imported the pool then exported it. However, this didn't fix it.

After some digging and brainstorming, I booted the TrueNAS install disk, added "init=/bin/bash" to the boot arguments in Grub, and went hunting for the systemd service responsible for the "Importing ZFS pools".