Boot volume critical alert

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrgerbik

Cadet
Hey everybody,

I started receiving emails last night with the message: The boot volume state is UNAVAIL: One or more devices are faulted in response to IO failures.

I'm new to FreeNAS and have a new machine which has only been running a couple days. I'm running FreeNAS 11 RC1. I haven't been using the system much at all, mostly just using the webgui to configure the relevant settings for my needs (scrub and smart schedules, make a volume and smb share, test different user access to share and permissions on different machines...). These emails started shortly after receiving the daily run and security run output emails. I've restarted the machine and have not received any emails regarding the boot volume state in about 30 minutes whereas I was being sent the critical alert emails every few minutes. Under System->Boot, the boot volume condition reads healthy.

Reading other posts on the forum, it seems it's possible that the boot drive is failing which would be lame since it's brand new. From what I've read I would expect something like The boot volume state is DEGRADED if that were the case.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Hardware
Gigabyte GA-X150M-PRO ECC
Intel G3950
Kingston 16 GB ECC
8x WD 4 TB
ADATA Elite S102 Pro 16 GB (boot volume plugged into motherboard USB3 port)

m0nkey_

MVP
Some USB drives perform better than others on FreeNAS. The recommended drives are the SanDisk Ultra Fit, they're usually on Amazon for $10 each. Get two of them and set-up a mirrored boot. To do this, when installing FreeNAS select all the boot drives in the installer, it'll create a mirror automatically.

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Both "UNAVAIL" and "DEGRADED" are similar messages. Here is the official docs on specifically what they mean:
http://docs.oracle.com/cd/E19253-01/819-5461/6n7ht6r01/index.html