Best method for moving data to a new drive?

garrei

Dabbler
Hi, so I'm very new to freenas, I decided to play around with an old PC I had and make it a Home NAS PC. Got Freenas installed and I setup a Plex on it with a 120GB SSD boot drive and a (VERY old) 1.5TB WD Desktop HDD. The 1.5TB drive is almost full up and I'm concerned because of its age it might fail soon, is currently perfectly healthy though!

Anyways I have bought an 8tb Ironwolf to move all the data to but not sure exactly what the best way to do it is. There are no RAIDs setup yet (not really anything important so it's not the end of the world if data gets lost). Just got 1 pool setup for media and thats it.

So yeah, what's the best method for me moving this data across so I dont need the 1.5TB anymore. (Also would like to keep all the plex settings and metadata if thats at risk of being lost in the process).

Thanks.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Your best bet, is to use ZFS (the file system) to create a mirror of the existing drive on the new drive. Then you can remove the old drive and replace it with a second 8TB drive so your data is mirrored on two dives instead of relying on just one drive. Here is a link to a thread that discusses taking a single drive pool and making it into a mirror. Please read it before taking action to reduce the risk to your data:

ZFS: Adding a drive to create a mirror
https://www.ixsystems.com/community/threads/create-zfs-mirror-by-adding-a-drive.14880/post-81348

You should also take some time to read the documents here as it will help familiarize you with FreeNAS and ZFS"

https://www.ixsystems.com/community/resources/links-to-useful-threads.108/

garrei

Dabbler