Automatically created folder and how to deal with it

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matute

Dabbler
Hi all, I'm fairly new to FreeNAS but been reading and experimenting quite a lot lately. Built two boxes and am testing several things prior to go into production mode. Today looking I realised something after some research and some console work on FreeNAS.

Scenario is:
FreeNAS-9.10.2-U3
1 Volume (let's call it FN1)
1 dataset inside FN1 called "VMs SIM"

I created a NFS share pointing to "/mnt/FN1/VMs-SIM" (note the dash instead of the space!)
I mounted that NFS share on a VMWare ESXi server and created 3 VMs

I realised something wasn't working fine when at the FN GUI I saw no space consumption on "VMs SIM" althoug I had 40 GiB disk usage on the ESXi. Long story short, after logging into the console, looking at what mount showed, looking at the /mnt/FN1/ and everything I realised the the mount automatically created that directory name for me in FN1, so now in /mnt/FN1/ i have a directory called "VMs-SIM" (which is a directory living in FN1 and a directory called "VMs SIM" which is the mount point of the dataset called "VMs SIM")...

First question: I can share with NFS the dataset "VMs SIM" (as I intended originally) and move everything where it belonged, then delete the wrong share, but how should I delete that directory afterwards? is the console the right place to do that?
Second question: what if I log into the console and just move (mv command) everything from one place to the other? (ie: "mv /mnt/FN1/VMs-SIM/* /mnt/FN1/VMs\ SIM/")

Thanks!

Vito Reiter

Wise in the Ways of Science
Yeah, get it setup the right way and move it all over (If they're important VM's I recommend copy and check not move), once that's done you can use console to remove the directory like rmdir, will probably have to force remove it given it will probably say it's in use. Just make sure if they're important files that it's all working before deleting originals.

Matute

Dabbler