At what point will AD be a universally viable option?

Status
Not open for further replies.

optimus1337

Cadet
I've been fighting around with getting AD to work with 9.2.1.5 and am just at a loss. I am just curious, there are a large number of threads regarding this issue, it seems like there is some key piece missing that is preventing it from working in some environments but not others. There are a thousand theories out there about capital letters and patches and making sure you have the correct type of mashed potatoes in your pockets when you try (obviously you need cheesy garlic, why what this ever a question?) but not one has allowed me to make progress on my own setup and I know I am not alone.

My question is, when can we expect that this will get addressed, are the powers that be looking in to it? Maybe it's my inexperience with Linux/Unix and this is answered somewhere (I'm just a lowly Windows Admin that inherited a FreeNAS server).

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Well, there's plenty of ways to make AD not compatible with FreeBSD/FreeNAS. So it can get messy very quickly if you enable certain security features and don't actually realize the problem. One person a few months ago found out after 18 months of experimenting that it was a security feature another domain admin added without telling anyone. They turned it off and *poof* it worked flawlessly.

AD appears to be turn-key easy because of the WebGUI. But it most certainly is not. I will tell you that iX has many customers using 9.2.1.x with AD and they always get them on the domain.

So I think the real question to ask is "who has the expertise to troubleshoot these AD problems and solve them on for the given situation?" and that number is very low. Sure the developers can login to a box and fix it, but it's not a viable solution for the rest of us mere mortals. :(

optimus1337

Cadet