Allocating all threads to bhyve

hexadecagram

Dabbler
I am not a virtualization expert but it seems reasonable to allocate ALL of my CPU's threads to my VMs and let SMP work it out. For example, suppose I have a 4-core HT CPU with 8 threads in all, so I set up my VM to use 1 vCPU, 4 cores, and 2 threads.

Unfortunately, when I try to do so with ArchLinuxux LTS, the VM often locks up solid with no console message, causing me to poweroff and restart (sometimes reboot).

Can someone give me a technical reason why allocating all threads to bhyve is a bad idea? It also seems reasonable enough that one might want to leave a thread or two available to the host OS so that it doesn't starve, but full allocation seems to be a more efficient use of CPU resources.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
If you tell a virtualization system to allocate ALL of the resources to a VM, ... it very well might. That leaves you with nothing for the host system.

Virtualization is better off with oversubscription. What you actually want is to allocate just enough CPU resources to a VM to accomplish the job. Vladan talks about that in this post, near the bottom.

hexadecagram

Dabbler
Hi jgreco, thanks for responding.

That article talks focuses the number of vCPUs, and I never diverge that from the number of physical CPUs in the host (to me, having 1 pCPU means I allocate at most 1 vCPU). But it does get me thinking of trying 1 vCPU, 1 core, and 1 thread and increase as needed. Is that what you are getting at? Also, is there a tool similar to esxtop for TrueNAS?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
In the ESXi model, a vCPU is just a schedulable entity that gets mapped to a physical CPU.

The problem is, if you take a host with six pCPU's and create a VM that demands six vCPU's, one of two things happens --

1) That VM runs during a time slice only because there are NO OTHER THINGS to run, because any other thing running has to be placed on a pCPU, reducing the available pCPU's to 5 (or less).