After fresh installation it boots into BIOS

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoezzyLO

Cadet
Hello

First of all, sorry if this thread have already been opened. Beside that i have to mention i am new in FreeNAS stuff :smile:

I have installed FreeNAS on my machine. Now my problem is, after installation is finished, the system requests to remove installation USB and restart the machine. But after restarting the machine it boots into BIOS or it gives PXE error.
If i try boot menu, there is no drive with boot files.

First i suspected PC. But i have tested it with several version Windows, but it works normal, boots every time.

Usefull aditional info:
I have installed FreeNAS 11 - latest

My machine is:
Asus S56CM, i5-3317U, 2x8GB DDR3, 128GB mSATA SSD, 2x 1TB WD Blue, Geforce GT635m

I have installed FreeNAS to mSATA drive. Is it possible that FreeNAS won't boot from mSATA?

Best regards, Luka

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
My machine is:
Asus S56CM, i5-3317U, 2x8GB DDR3, 128GB mSATA SSD, 2x 1TB WD Blue, Geforce GT635m
The FreeNAS operating system was not designed to run off a laptop computer, so what you are doing
is not recommended. Having said that, You will have to enter you bios and tell your machine to boot
from the drive that you installed FreeNAS on. If your machine can not boot from that device, I guess
you must get a plan "B".
I have installed FreeNAS to mSATA drive. Is it possible that FreeNAS won't boot from mSATA?
The machine can either boot from that device, or it can"t. FreeNAS has nothing to do with this...

joeschmuck

Old Man
Did you use UEFI or the other option? Have you entered the BIOS to see what is selected for the boot device and if it's Legacy or UEFI?

As @BigDave said, this is not a FreeNAS issue, it's the computer you are using. FreeNAS was not designed for use on a laptop and that is for several reasons however each laptop may have a unique boot setup. mSATA can definately add a level of incompatability.