Advice on budget plex server for home

idrobnjak

Cadet
Obviously a noob here looking to learn/play with FreeNas for the first time and setup a home server for backup and plex for existing movie collection and maybe a little bit of torrenting. Movies will go to my Roku's, Android devices and PCs throughout the house. I do not anticipate more than 1 or 2 streams of Plex at any given time and this will not get shared with anyone outside the house.

I have 3 options at the moment and looking to go with the most economical which will work and last for a while. All will start with 2 x 3TB Seagate Baraccuda 7,200 rpm drives which I have had for a long time and will be setup in RAID 1:

1. Reuse an existing old PC I have. MSI H61 chipset home PC grade board, Intel i3 2100, 2x4GB DDR3 1600 RAM, Realtek Gb Ethernet. They sit in my SilverStone HTPC case with an OCZ 500W modular PSU. Cost $0

2. I see on these boards the tigerdirect deal for an HP Proliant ML10 Gen 9 for $169 plus another 8GB stick of ECC RAM for $100. Not sure what board/chipset is here but an i3 6100, 12GB DDR4 ECC, looks like also a Gb ethernet chip, but probably better than the Realtek I have in my current available PC. Cost $269.

3. Dell Poweredge T30. Current deal with coupon for $329 + tax. Intel Xeon E3-1225 v5, 8GB DDR4 2400 RAM Non-ECC, Gb ethernet. Plus potentially another 8GB RAM stick ($63 for non-ECC) for a total of 16GB but that can wait. What I like about this one is the small size and from what I read runs very quietly. Cost $348 for the Dell with tax.

Based on my projected needs, should I just start with what I have or invest in a new setup for seamless intro to FreeNas? Any help or advice is appreciated.

Last edited:

gpsguy

gpsguy

Sorry, I didn't notice that you were planning on another 8GB RAM.

idrobnjak

Cadet
Sorry, I didn't notice that you were planning on another 8GB RAM.