Adding New Pool or Vdev get [Errno 2] No such file or directory

Joined
Aug 14, 2023
Messages
5
I have 2 new rives that I would like to add to increase the size of my Pool. every time I try to add a vdev it gives me this error code.
I have also tried to create a new Pool and I receive the same error message. what can I do to fix this?
Code:
Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/job.py", line 355, in run
    await self.future
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/job.py", line 391, in __run_body
    rv = await self.method(*([self] + args))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/schema.py", line 981, in nf
    return await f(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/pool.py", line 851, in do_update
    await self.middleware.call('pool.format_disks', job, disks)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1279, in call
    return await self._call(
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1236, in _call
    return await methodobj(*prepared_call.args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/pool_/format_disks.py", line 28, in format_disks
    await asyncio_map(format_disk, disks.items(), limit=16)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/utils/asyncio_.py", line 16, in asyncio_map
    return await asyncio.gather(*futures)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/utils/asyncio_.py", line 13, in func
    return await real_func(arg)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/pool_/format_disks.py", line 24, in format_disk
    await self.middleware.call('disk.format', disk, swapgb if config['create_swap'] else 0, False)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1279, in call
    return await self._call(
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1247, in _call
    return await self.run_in_executor(prepared_call.executor, methodobj, *prepared_call.args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/main.py", line 1152, in run_in_executor
    return await loop.run_in_executor(pool, functools.partial(method, *args, **kwargs))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/concurrent/futures/thread.py", line 58, in run
    result = self.fn(*self.args, **self.kwargs)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.9/site-packages/middlewared/plugins/disk_/format.py", line 11, in format
    size = get_size_with_name(disk)
  File "bsd/disk.pyx", line 37, in bsd.disk.get_size_with_name
  File "bsd/disk.pyx", line 38, in bsd.disk.get_size_with_name
  File "bsd/disk.pyx", line 48, in bsd.disk.get_size_with_file
FileNotFoundError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
Can you wipe the disks in the UI?

Can you share the screen before you get that error?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2023
Messages
5
Yes I can wipe them fine and have done a quick wipe as well as one full with random data as well as one full with zeros.

I cannot capture the screen quickly enough. It starts and immediately comes up with the error.
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
I cannot capture the screen quickly enough. It starts and immediately comes up with the error.
I don't think we're talking about the same screen... before you press the button to create the pool, what's that look like.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2023
Messages
5
Once I Click on Add VDEVS and confirm, it will process for about half a second and then the error message comes up.
Screenshot 2023-08-16 100134.jpg
Screenshot 2023-08-16 100503.jpg
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,703
da2 showing up as UNKNOWN (rather than HDD or SSD) is strange.

Can we look into the smartctl -a for both drives?
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2023
Messages
5
When you mentioned that, I Swapped drives and noticed that one of the cables is not working properly, I am getting a replacement cable to see if that clears up the communication problem. I will post as soon as I receive the new cable.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2023
Messages
5
Replaced the cable that had the communication issue. Everything works after replacement. No error! Thank you for helping me track it down.
 
Top