AD DNS issues

iXen

Cadet
Hey all,

I’m new to TrueNAS scale. We’re trying to add the link to our Active Directory network but I’m getting the following issue:

_kerberos._tcp.dc1.domain.local.: Nameserver 192.168.0.104 (dns server from ipconfig) failed to resolve SRV. This may indicate a DNS misconfiguration of the TrueNAS server.

Both servers can ping each other fine and TrueNAS can resolve the DNS server within shell.

I’m really lost and unsure if it’s an issue with my domain controller or TrueNAS.

Sorry if it’s in the wrong section but I would appreciate some assistance:)

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hey all,

I’m new to TrueNAS scale. We’re trying to add the link to our Active Directory network but I’m getting the following issue:

_kerberos._tcp.dc1.domain.local.: Nameserver 192.168.0.104 (dns server from ipconfig) failed to resolve SRV. This may indicate a DNS misconfiguration of the TrueNAS server.

Both servers can ping each other fine and TrueNAS can resolve the DNS server within shell.

I’m really lost and unsure if it’s an issue with my domain controller or TrueNAS.

Sorry if it’s in the wrong section but I would appreciate some assistance:)
This indicates that SRV lookups for kerberos are failing. Perhaps the above nameserver is not your AD domain controller.

iXen

Cadet
This indicates that SRV lookups for kerberos are failing. Perhaps the above nameserver is not your AD domain controller.
This is what I thought, I'm going to do some more digging. I had a feeling it was nothing to do with TrueNAS but wanted to double check to see if there was something I'm missing.

I'll update on the way to see if it ends up being something else.

rodpas

Cadet