About to pull the trigger on HDD's. Anything I should know?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've finally found 3TB WD Red's for a decent price. I plan to buy 7 to go along with the one I already have. I'll be using them in a single ZoL vdev... I might be talking the talk but I'm still new to the world of home servers so is there anything I've missed? Any reason I shouldn't place my order?

[EDIT] Please forgive the stupid question, I'm just a little nervous as it's a lot of money to spend and I just want to make sure I've not overlooked something.

Last edited:
Thankfully I'm not that big of a noob* :). I have 8 SAS ports and 6 SATA ports (on my S.M. X10SL7-F)... I will have to finally buy that extra HDD rack for my XL R2 though, that is if Fractal ever have it in stock.

*That has reminded my that I need some more SATA cables though.

9C1 Newbee

Patron
If you want to save a bit of cash, some of us have had decent luck with green drives. Not that reds are a bad decision. Keep in mind you will more than likely need to use wdidle on either flavor. Make sure you have power plugs and watts for the new drives. That's all I got.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
No clue what a "single ZoL vdev" is..

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I don't know, but if he's going with ZoL he shouldn't be here.. our advice could be inappropriate...

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
I don't know, but if he's going with ZoL he shouldn't be here.. our advice could be inappropriate...

It does explain the thread being under Offtopic.

If that's the case, I guess the forum's reputation is on the positive side after all.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
If that's the case, I guess the forum's reputation is on the positive side after all.

Paint us in a good light again and you'll find your account banned. :P

philiplu

Explorer
I will have to finally buy that extra HDD rack for my XL R2 though, that is if Fractal ever have it in stock.