100TB array on 32gigs ram - will it bottleneck?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mediahound

Dabbler
I'm the guy who posted in introductions who needs to eventually build a 200tb-1petabyte array. (unique data, before mirroring/backups) I'm not a sysadmin and am a total newbie who might even be using terms wrong but I keep reading and taking notes trying to understand.

I'm currently exploring hardware options trying to get a better understanding of different possible ways to do it because all that storage does not need to be on a single NAS unit (that I can tell/unless I misunderstand anyways/see my intro post for more info) and i'm trying to understand exactly how far a person can reasonably stretch a single NAS box in terms of ultimate storage. For comparison i'm speccing out boxes that max at 32gigs, 64gigs and 128gigs just to compare with a guesstimated per-drive-head cost of about $40-60 added on the server end to whatever each drive costs. (USB or SATA) Although i'm not any cheaper than Backblaze storage pods, theyre running RAID6 (which I dont trust due to silent data corruption) whereas i'm primarily interested in ZFS to prevent exactly that, which means building around it's extreme RAM requirements and such by design. The primary bottleneck therefore seems to be - how much RAM you can practically stick on the motherboard so far.