‘boot-pool’ has encountered an uncorrectable I/O failure

Simon89

Cadet
Hey everyone,

I’m having an issue with my TrueNAS setup after a power cut at home today.

Z77-D3H
24GB 1600mhz
128 SK Hynix boot drive
3x 2TB HDDs

I’ve attached a photo of the error I’m getting. If someone could walk me through some steps to try and revive the system I’d appreciate that as I’m very new to TrueNAS.

Thanks
Simon

Attachments

• 202547AC-4DFB-4EB9-9397-0836434A6C36.jpeg
    202547AC-4DFB-4EB9-9397-0836434A6C36.jpeg
    200.1 KB · Views: 270

NugentS

MVP
You do have a backup of the config file don't you?
If you do, replace the disk and reinstall

If you don't (why not?) and I think there is a copy on the system dataset somewhere

Simon89

Cadet
If I'm honest I don't and wasn't aware that it would be such a good idea to.

However, after turning the machine off and checking all connections etc it seems to be running okay now?

I'll be sure to do a backup of that file now. I assume that if the SSD were to be dead, I could reinstall TrueNAS onto a new SSD and restore that file and things should start working again?

jgreco

Resident Grinch
If I'm honest I don't and wasn't aware that it would be such a good idea to.

Yeah, and this is why. This is documented all over the place, but who reads docs? (no I'm not trolling/sarcastic). The upside to TrueNAS is that all the important configuration bits are in the database, and as long as you have a copy of it, you can easily replace boot devices and recover with just the new boot device and a copy of your database (config). It's also very helpful to set aside a copy of the installed TrueNAS, burn a disc or whatever.

Treat this as a learning experience and make copies of the config and install ISO. It can make your life easier down the road.

Simon89

Cadet