ZFS and phy bad for slot error(s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

louisk

Patron
I just came across an odd issue. I'm running FreeNAS-8.3.1-BETA2-x64 (r13015) on a Dell R610 connected to an MD1000 JBOD. I've been running this config for a couple of years now. Its been quite solid. Yesterday, I physically moved my gear to a different room. When I brought things online, I got the following message:

55725 (Fri Jan 18 00:21:00 PST 2013/ENCL/CRIT) - Enclosure PD 00(e1/s255) phy bad for slot 9
55723 (Fri Jan 18 00:21:00 PST 2013/ENCL/CRIT) - Enclosure PD 00(e1/s255) phy bad for slot 4
55724 (Fri Jan 18 00:21:00 PST 2013/ENCL/CRIT) - Enclosure PD 00(e1/s255) phy bad for slot 6

When I login to the webby, I see no such claims about any errors at all (The alerts icon is still green, and the storage section claims things are healthy. See screenshot attached). I checked the cli and got the same results as the webby. I'm left wondering why this was sent out.

pool-healthy.jpg

Basic google didn't turn up anything that seemed particularly relevant. Any thoughts about what this means?

Thanks.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Not sure if this relates to your issue, but I'll share my experience with 'phy' errors.

I had an Adaptec SAS controller with an external x4 port connected to a SAS port expander with 16 hard drives attached. The SAS cable between the controller and SAS port expander started getting flaky and research led me to an issue with the signal from the controller to the port expander. I would check your cabling and see if something is wrong. Phy errors are basically "communication errors" that meet certain criteria. When my cable decided to finally go bad I lost 1 of the 4 links to the SAS expander (slowed down my RAID array by about 30%). I'd check your cabling and see if anything is being pinched, stressed, etc. I'm not sure how you could determine which "slot" is which hard drive or cable to help isolate the problem.