windows to FreeNAS rsync permission problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

maks

Cadet
Hi there,

I'm new to FreeNAS, first post here :)
I just built a backup server machine using spare computer parts, and I installed FreeNAS on a thumb drive. So far all went very smoothly, and I really like the FreeNAS configuration interface. The main purpose of this machine is to do a regular backup from my 2 Windows 7 machines to the FreeNAS server, using rsync (and cygwin). I already had a successful rsync backup running on and to a dedicated Linux based d-link dns-323 NAS box before. With my FreeNAS system I run into the following problem: I have setup my zfs volume (problem is the same with ufs), set up a cifs share and set up the rsync service. I can access the shared volume in windows without a problem. When I manually copy things from windows to the shared volume everything is fine too. However, when I copy things to the shared folder using rsync, I can't access those files/folders from Windows, I get a permission denied... The rsync server in FreeNAS and my script in Windows are using my windows user name and password, which I also added to FreeNAS. The problem seems to clearly come from my rsync setup, but I can't figure out what it is... Any idea?

Thanks!

maks

Cadet
Hi again,

I attached some screenshots of my user settings, volume permissions, CIFS share settings and rsync module settings, to better illustrate my problem. The user is part of the data1 group, in case you wonder.

On the windows side I use the following command to copy some test files over:

C:\Cygwin\bin\rsync -vrtz --password-file=c:\cygwin\secret --delete /cygdrive/c/Temp maks@FREENAS::PCBackup

The secret file contains my username and password in the correct form.