Will it ESXI and FreeNAS fine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

uokrol

Dabbler
Hey all, building my first ESXi with FreeNAS pretty soon. I purchased this r710 for $50 a while back and will be taking it apart to build. Just seeing if it would work fine. Motherboard will be purchased separately since I don't want to use the server chassis.

Case: Corsair 750d
cpu: 2x Xeon E6520
Ram: 48GB ddr3 1066mhz ECC registered
motherboard: X8DTL-IF (is this a good motherboard?)
psu: TBD
HBA: Perc h310
HDD: (5) 2tb hdd and (2) 8tb hdd

Back story: I was going to use this as my VM server and build another rig for FreeNAS, but am on a very tight budget, so I thought, why not just throw FreeNAS on a VM like some people here. I'm not too experienced with ESXi, but I've been touching and testing with it the past few weeks. It'll be a good way to learn also. I won't be using FreeNAS until maybe a month down the line until i can trust myself with ESXi.

I was thinking to use the 2 8tb as a mirror and house my backups, the backups for that backup will be housed at my parents house. The other drives I will be using a RAIDZ2 for network shares. The shares will all be backed up to the backup share via backupassistant. I downloaded the trial and it works great, but will be purchasing it later down the road when my testing is done. If anyone has a better software, let me know.

On the other VMs that i will be creating is a domain setup. Currently running a windows server right now with consumer hardware to test around so I'm pretty familiar with it. All in all, I will have around 4-5 VMs (2 will be dc and FreeNAS, others would be labs/test).

Would this be a good setup for what I want to do?

Last edited by a moderator:

joeinaz

Contributor