What exactly happens when OFFLINE a disk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lars Gamborg

Cadet
So this is my senario. I havent really got into a problem, but I want to change my storage setup. I am currently running FreeNas 9.2.x, with 3 hdd in ZFS (stripe). What I really want to do is to change the setup from ZFS to UFS (because of my low RAM, and as I heard its adviced to not use ZFS then).

My first thought was to take out one hdd at a time, import it into UFS. Fill it up, and then start on the next hdd, untill all hdd is mounted up in UFS. I was thinking of doing the method of selecting the hdd and make it OFFLINE. My question is. What exactly happens when I do this? Does it automatically move the data from this disc to the two others before it makes it offline?

I am quite new to FreeNAS, so I am really scared of doing something I cant undo without loosing my data.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
First: No, you can't do what you are thinking. You need all of your disks blank when you create the UFS storage.
Second: UFS is dead in FreeNAS. So if your hardware can't do ZFS you need to find a different system to use.
Third: You will be unable to offline any disks in your pool because you have no redundancy. Which leads me to...
Fourth: If one of your disks fails in your zpool, you will *lose* all of your data.

I see only two options:

1. Upgrade your server to handle ZFS and rebuild your pool with redundancy before you lose your data.
2. Find another operating system to move your data too and buy appropriate hardware for that OS (if necessary).

You've been painted into a nasty corner, and I'd be lying if there was a good way out of the situation you are in.

Lars Gamborg

Cadet
Thanx for fast reply