Video editing directly from FreeNAS - hardware options

Status
Not open for further replies.

mattpitts74

Dabbler
Hi There, I've been running freeNAS for several months now without any problems.

So I'm now wondering how I can improve the performance of the NAS in terms of accessing data?

I am currently using mirrored drives and 1GB network. I would ideally like to have the fastest possible access to data from my NAS connected to my workstation PC.

I was wondering about running a couple of SSD's in Raid0 or wondering what are the cheapest options for 10GB ethernet?

Do I need a 10GB switch if I'm only connecting to a single other PC? or can I directly connect the workstation and NAS via 10G cards?

I have read through the 10GB network primer and there doesn't seem to be any mention of directly connecting and all the other 10GB options seem very expensive.

I'm hoping to directly edit HD video from the freeNAS box, but suspect this may not be viable without 10GB connection. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

DataKeeper

Patron
You can direct link a card in each system without a switch yes. Costs.. yes 10GbE is still expensive. There are options from Chelsio and Intel who most use with transceiver modules and fiber running about 200.00 per card. I plan on using the Intel X540T1 or T2 cards with Cat6a copper and eventually adding a 10-port 10GBase-T switch. While the T1 version is an extra 100 bucks I'm looking at future use with the switch and longer distances between the servers in the basement and my office upstairs on the other side of the house.

Also, what type of share are you using to access the data? IIRC an ISCSI share will provide you better performance over an NFS or CIFS. I'm sure someone will correct me here if I'm wrong.

mattpitts74

Dabbler