VDEV Pool Support

vdev-noob-55

Cadet
Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to truenas and recently just purchased 12 Drives that I'm passing through to truenas scale. The drives are 1.2TB 12gb SAS drives and I've grouped them into 1 Zdev running raidz3. It's recently come to my attention that it's good practice to only limit a pool to around 10 drives. Would it be worth my wild to split the VDEV and create 2 VDEV's with 6 disks running RAIDZ2. Would this gain much performance and would you guys reccomend this. Also is there any procedure to splitting a VDEV into 2? It's not too much of an issue if there isn't there is only really around 50GB of data in the pool as of the moment so worst case I can pull all the data off and create 2 ZDEV's from scratch. Just seeking some opinions on this and if this is worth my wild or recommended.

Appreciate any advice. Hope everyone is enjoying their weekend

Arwen

MVP
First off, "Zdev" is really "vDev", for Virtual Device.

Next, 12 disks is okay for a RAID-Z2/3 vDev. It just depends on what you are trying to accomplish, more storage, or faster IOPS. You have to choose.

No, their zero method to split a 12 disk RAID-Zx vDev, or remove disks from a RAID-Zx vDev. It's backup, destroy and create new.

vdev-noob-55

Cadet
thanks for your response ! Apologies for the mix-up between Zdev and vDev I am really most likely after more storage as they really are only 1.2tb drives. Is there any way to calculate or estimate the difference between IOPS

vdev-noob-55

Cadet
thanks for your response ! Apologies for the mix-up between Zdev and vDev I am really most likely after more storage as they really are only 1.2tb drives. Is there any way to calculate or estimate the difference between IOPS
between say a 12 Disk vDev and two 6 disk vDev's

Arwen

MVP