Upgrade from 9.2.1.7 to 9.3 stable fails

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Nope, that "zfs list" doesn't look correct to me. It shows you have 5.17TB of used storage however you look at the list of sub-directories and it doesn't add up, like you are missing a huge folder somewhere. If you have access to any data on this system, I'd back it up, although just over 5TB of data is a lot to backup. Yes, see what you get when you boot from FreeNAS 9.3, hopefully it will show where that 5TB of data reside. If you get the same results, I think you will be destroying your pool however someone might chime in with a solution but I'm a bit skeptical.

andyl

Explorer
Crikey. I don't think those are sub-dirs, though. I had assumed they were other filesystems mounted in from somewhere.

I've never used the "zfs list" command before, so I'm not sure what I'm seeing. When I set this up, I put all the space into a single pool "Vol1" - only recently have I come to appreciate this as short-sighted. All the data (5.17Tb) sits in the Vol1 pool, I'm not sure what the others are, but I assume they're system created.

I do have a full backup, so I can destroy and re-create. This would be preferable if I've made some terrible design decision :)

joeschmuck

Old Man
In Vol1 you should have a folder/sub-directory in which you store all your data. For instance my pool is called "farm" where yours is called "Vol1". I have a sub-directory called "backups" which I created via the GUI and in zfs list is will show:
Code:
[root@freenas] ~# zfs list
NAME                                                    USED  AVAIL  REFER  MOUNTPOINT
farm                                                   4.83T  2.19T  3.01G  /mnt/farm
farm/.system                                           42.1M  2.19T  3.29M  legacy
farm/.system/configs-5321dce6b8f542d387c8dd7e6bdde0ed   288K  2.19T   288K  legacy
farm/.system/cores                                     1.44M  2.19T  1.44M  legacy