SOLVED Upgrade dilemma - Hardware or HDD first

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jayos

Dabbler
I have been avidly reading many of the great posts and articles here in the forum. This has led me to understand that I have been running FreeNAS for a few years, upgrading along the way and have been very lucky with my hardware.

The original decision taken was if I lose my data due to hardware failure, non ECC RAM etc... I have a backup of all my important data and may just lose a few movies and music that I store.
As time goes on I have managed to consume 80% disk space so will need to upgrade the HDD's. looking at 3x 4TB WD Red in Raidz1. Or 4x 3TB WD Red would work out cheaper and provide more usable storage.
What drive configurations would you recommend?

This will leave me with the 3x old 2TB HDD's which I could use for additional backup space.
However, I have started to play around with additional functionality setting up jails etc. I am feeling a little vulnerable and if anything were to go wrong so after reading the hardware guide and many posts am considering upgrading to the following:

Either - Supermicro X11ssm-F, ASRock C236 WSI Rack
Xeon E3 v6 CPU
32GB ECC RAM

I would prefer the mini ATX form factor and have also seen the Asus P10S boards but am curious if anyone has had any experience with them?

As I cannot upgrade the hardware and HDD's at the same time I am trying to decide which to upgrade first, logic tells me to get the hardware done first. What do you think?

Last edited:

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
What do you think?
How is the pool currently configured? 3x 2TB in RAIDZ1?

What drive configurations would you recommend?
Something with RAIDZ2.

As I cannot upgrade the hardware and HDD's at the same time I am trying to decide which to upgrade first, logic tells me to get the hardware done first.