TrueNAS Scale Build 2024 - Questions and Hardware Recommendation

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the world of TrueNAS and starting to plan my first assembly. After some studies and research, some questions arose that I would like to answer, as well as opinions on recommendations for assembly parts.

Questions:

1. What is the difference/impact between a Gaming Motherboard and a Server Motherboard?
    • I live in Brazil, access to this type of motherboard (supermicro for example) here is almost zero, as there is basically no availability for individuals, so there ends up only being the possibility of acquiring these plates only by import, and with the rates here reaching more than 100%(yes, this really happens), a plate that costs $500 abroad, arrives here for me with the final price of $1000(at least, which could be until later). But unlike these cards, the "gaming" motherboards here have high availability, facilitating access and, above all, cost, which basically follows the external price. So, a $600 gaming motherboard often ends up being cheaper for me than a supermicro motherboard purchased from abroad.
  2. What is the difference/impact between a Intel and AMD?
    • In these cases I wanted to compare more specifically the differences/impacts related to performance, energy efficiency and general improvements.
    • If among them there really is a more advantageous one specifically thinking about TrueNAS and at what point for other services (such as virtualization, PLEX applications for example) they would impact.