Transmission Install Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
Any one have any suggestions for me to check? Like I mentioned, everything went exactly as the guide specified until I had to go and change the settings.json file which is no-where to be found.

ProtoSD

MVP
have you tried using the 'find' command:

find / -type f -name 'settings.json' -print

if it's on your system, that should show you the path where it is. The name in the quotes is case-sensitive, so if it really Setting.JSON or something else, that command won't find it.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
Thanks for that. I'm new to this so I was struggling to find the correct find commands. I had a look through some freeBSD sites but the syntax never seemed to be correct. I'll run that tonight to see if it finds the file.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler
have you tried using the 'find' command:

find / -type f -name 'settings.json' -print

if it's on your system, that should show you the path where it is. The name in the quotes is case-sensitive, so if it really Setting.JSON or something else, that command won't find it.

I tried running the above command using settings.json, Settings.json, Settings.JSON, settings.JSON, setting.json, setting.JSON etc and they all seemed to be seaching but then it just returns to freenas# and doesn't give me anything :(

Anyone have some more idea's? I can copy and create new files in the Download/Transmission file so I don't believe it is a permissions problem. Also the rc.conf file holds my changes perfectly even after a few reboots.

Sir_Redrum

Dabbler