Terrible Disk Read/Write I/O Speeds

Status
Not open for further replies.

kr4m17

Dabbler
I am new to FreeNAS but have been using Linux for years. I just upgraded my RAID 50 Linux server to FreeNAS (No hardware changes at all). I am now experiencing terrible hard disk I/O problems. At first I thought it was a network issue, but as I started to troubleshoot I realized it was drive related.

To start, I am running a Core 2 Q6600, 4 GB Memory (8 GB in the mail and will be here any day), Six 1G Ethernet Cards. My RAID controller is a 3Ware 9650SE-12ML configured as RAID 50 with 12 3TB disks.

Under Linux I was getting approximately 2.5 Gbit/sec I/O from the array, now I am getting 80 Mbit/second with peak performance of 110 Mbit/sec.

I eliminated networking as an issue by running iperf. See results:

[jsimon@storage01 /mnt/raid0]$ iperf -s
------------------------------------------------------------
Server listening on TCP port 5001
TCP window size: 64.0 KByte (default)
------------------------------------------------------------
[ 4] local 10.0.20.105 port 5001 connected with 10.0.20.100 port 46752
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 4] 0.0-180.0 sec 19.6 GBytes 937 Mbits/sec

Next I checked write speed. See results:

[jsimon@storage01 /mnt/raid0]$ time sh -c "dd if=/dev/zero of=bigfile bs=8k count=1000000 && sync"
1000000+0 records in
1000000+0 records out
8192000000 bytes transferred in 754.550775 secs (10856791 bytes/sec)

real 12m36.513s
user 0m0.383s
sys 0m22.595s

This is definitely the problem. To keep everyone from having to do the math this is 82.830741882 Mbit/sec local read write.

If I write a smaller file that can be cached the issue seems to disappear. See below:

[jsimon@storage01 /mnt/raid0]$ time sh -c "dd if=/dev/zero of=bigfile bs=8k count=100 && sync"
100+0 records in
100+0 records out
819200 bytes transferred in 0.002206 secs (371376333 bytes/sec)

real 0m0.121s
user 0m0.000s
sys 0m0.011s