System seems to freeze

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike Zahorik

Explorer
I'm new with FreeNAS, but i like the idea and want to make it work. I have a 64 bit AMD machine, with 2 single TB drives and am using a 4Gb thumb for the system. I downloaded the 64 bit version of FreeNAS and burnt a disk. I formated the Tb drives using Gparted using ext4. I set up my BIOS properly and booted the FreeNAS disk. There is a lot of splash, the the DOS like FreeNAS menu screen comes up. It times out and there is more splash. Then a character color graphic screen displays asking to install , quit etc. I select install, after a short time I am asked to choice which drive to install to, I pick the USB 4Gb. Then a line of text appears showning progress, but once the percentage gets to 20%, the updates stop. The DVD light is flashing showing activity, but after 20 minutes nothing changes. I have tried a couple of different USB drives and the same result. Could my DVD that I burnt be bad?

Thanks
Mike

gpsguy

You could also use this method to install FN on your thumb drive. Burning an IMG File

The drives shouldn't be pre-formatted, unless you we're trying to import existing data. You'll probably want to use either UFS or ZFS.

In addition to reading the manual, review Cyberjock's slideshow

Mike Zahorik

Explorer