Speed (Transferrate) issue with CIFS

Status
Not open for further replies.

ellupu

Dabbler
Hey there,
I'm new to freeNAS. Got myself a HP Microserver N40L and added additional RAM as described in the Guide. Well I finally managed to create a CIFS Share and was able to transfer files on a shared dataset but the transferrate is a bit disappointing.

I've tested it with a 1.3GiB rar-file in my local network.
UP something between 42 - 23MiB/s
DOWN (desktop) ~53MiB/s

I've also deactivated LZ4 compression for testing purposes but that changed nothing. I'm using a Cisco Small Business 8-port GB-switch between them. I hope someone could help me. Thanks in advance!

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hi there.

I know the HP has a Broadcom NIC, but what's in your desktop? Realtek and Broadcom are generally speaking not as high performing as Intel. 50% throughput though is low even for that.

Have you tried swapping cables just to test if you have a bad one somewhere?

ellupu

Dabbler
My desktop is a Shuttle XPC with Generic Marvell Yukon ETH Controller. I've swapped the cable between my my desktop and the switch (to a CAT 5E), still no difference. The cable between the HP and the switch is a new CAT6 but I've tested it with a different CAT 5E cable just in case - still bad performance (no difference in UP and DOWN rates)

ellupu

Dabbler
I'm using Windows 7 (german) so hopefully this helps what I got from ipconfig /all

"Generischer Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010-basierter Ethernet-Controller"
It's from Microsoft, Driver-version 11.0.5.3

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
It may just be a combination of slow controllers on both ends. I know that the Realtek/Broadcom cards like to lean on the CPU for their horsepower, and the E-350 there might be a bit short.

But let's use iperf for network testing, and dd for local disk testing.

If you don't have a Linux/BSD/etc machine to run it, the Windows iperf client can be found here: