[SOLVED] - Intel X520-DA not working properly with TrueNAS 13.0.1-U1 on MikroTik Switch

lupuscon

Cadet
Hello everyone,

I am very new to TrueNAS, in fact this is my first setup.
The experience is not very good so far and i tried everything i could think of before writing this post.

Situation Summary:
System Summary
- HPE MicroServer Gen8
- Intel Celeron G1610T Dual Core
- 2x8GB HPE Smart Memory
- HDD Slots: 4x 960GB Kingston A400
- ODD Slot: 1x 240GB SanDisk SSD (TRUENAS CORE)
- USB Internal: 32GB USB Stick with a Grub Installation for Chainloading TrueNAS Bootloader
- PCIe Slot: Intel X520-DA with genuine Intel 10GBE-SR Tranceivers

• Fresh True NAS Core Installation on 240GB SSD with 16GBs Swap
  • Single NIC Configured
  • WebUI is not accessible
  • TrueNAS not pingable even in the same VLAN
  • lspci shows the NIC with the correct chipset and spec

What has been tried?:
  • Trying different LAG Configurations
  • Removing LAG and using Single NIC Port
  • Configure via DHCP -> DHCP Client aquires an ip address and as soon as the ip is configured network connectivity is broken.
  • Swapping NICs (I used a QLogic card before hand, found out TrueNAS does not support this controller) -> Switched to Intel X520s

Any Ideas are highly welcome.
Thank you in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
I wouldn't be surprised if your X520 is overheating or pulling too much power from the MicroServer's power supply. Is there any reason you're running 10G and LAGG at that?

lupuscon

Cadet
Currently i am not even using LAGG as i stated in my situation report.
I tried to because i ultimately want to use an iscsi target on my truenas with my esxi server.

The card is not even getting handwarm.
Power usage seems normal. I already had a cpu with double the power consumption running without issues. (E3-1220v2) but i switched back to the Celeron G1610T to save some energy.
There is no Power Cap configured.