BUILD Small build by total newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

tkn

Cadet
Been reading and reading, but obviously need to take it a step at a time.

OBJECTIVES
  • Small footprint build with some room to grow
  • Plex transcoding x 2 at least
  • Time Machine backups x 3 machines
  • Some torrenting
  • RAIDZ1 initially but eventually RAIDZ2
  • Crashplan capable for offsite backup
CURRENT BUILD LIST

Motherboard
SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F ($205)
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1220V3 Haswell 3.1GHz ($205)
RAM
2 x Samsung M391B1G73BH0-CK0 ($250)
PS
SeaSonic SSR-360GP 360W 80+ ($55) FSP Group AURUM S 400W ($65)
HD
3 x WD 3TB Green ($350)
Case
FD Node 304 ($75)

Total cost = ~$1140

OPEN QUESTIONS
  • Are there opportunities to pare cost? The CPU and MB seem to be very favored on the forum, but are quite expensive.
  • Are WD Reds worth the premium over Greens?
  • Is the PS sufficient?
  • I read some older threads saying Crashplan can be quite difficult to get working - is this still the case?

joeschmuck

Old Man
The PS is fine for what you have spec'd. If you plan to run up to 6 hard drives then I'd personally go for a 400 watt Seasonic PS but the 450 may be overkill, not that it will really be a waste of money but...

The MB and CPU are fair price for what you are purchasing. If you want to go cheaper then you will be going AMD CPU. Nothing wrong with that but the Supermicro MB was designed with a server in mind.

The hard drives are debatable. Some people love the Reds like I do and some people would prefer the Greens and some people prefer Enterprise class drives. The little extra you pay for the Reds buys you 1 extra year of warranty so don't forget to factor that into your choice.