sharing SubVolumes via the 'Main'Volume with SMB [FreeNAS r12825, Mac OS X 10.6.8]

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fl337w00dM4c

Cadet
Hello all,

I am quite new to FreeNAS and so far I am quite thrilled with my NAS box (HP Proliant N40)

I am still tinkering with the settings and volumes.

One issue I had so far, was that changed user rights seem to be not propagated always recursively. In my case, I changed the ownership/rights for an 'upper' volume, but it did not propagate to all files of a volume mounted within the 'upper volume'. For the moment, I came to the conclusion, that nesting ZFS volumes within each other and sharing the top most volume is not the 'best' idea ;)

The issue I have currently, that such a construct collides with SMB or so.
I have a main volume for data ('media') and created sub-volumes within to have a fine grain quota control ('video','musik','foto') plus an extra volume with aggressive compression switched on ('dataCompressed'), i.e.
Code:
> mount
tankNAS/media on /mnt/tankNAS/media (zfs, NFS exported, local, nfsv4acls)
tankNAS/media/dataCompressed on /mnt/tankNAS/media/dataCompressed (zfs, local, nfsv4acls)
tankNAS/media/foto on /mnt/tankNAS/media/foto (zfs, local, nfsv4acls)
tankNAS/media/musik on /mnt/tankNAS/media/musik (zfs, local, nfsv4acls)
tankNAS/media/video on /mnt/tankNAS/media/video (zfs, local, nfsv4acls)

I am sharing now 'media' via SMB (for which I had to correct the permissions manually).

Now I tried to move a file, located at the trunk of 'media', into 'dataCompressed' via SMB with the 'media' as trunk mounted on Mac OS 10.6. However, the Mac OS X aborted the move with an error code -1303. If the error codes have not changed since v9 it reads "diffVolErr -- Files on different volumes".

So, my question is now: can I move files between different volumes (on the server) mounted within the same tree, whose root is exported as SMB mount...?

I hope I was not to verbose... ;)

Cheers and thanks for ideas,
Thomas