BUILD Sanity check on hardware, looking for recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

zeamaize

Cadet
Hello all,

First time poster, but I've been lurking on the boards for a bit while working on a project. I'm a scientist at a non-profit research institute, and I'm looking to build a large data storage system for experimental use. We want to collect some data on the way scientists are using certain data sets, and to serve some GIS and other data to a large number of folks in our field.

I've been researching a budget system for a while, and here is my plan:

Use a DS-24ER from Norcotek as a JBOD. Likely fill it with something like the WD 4001FYY6 (partially at first). I'm stuck now pricing out a server to go with it. I figure a rack mount server would do nicely, and have considered some of the Norcotek cases. I also figure I need a good SAS controller which supports a large number of drives (Figure this will run $600-$800). Does anyone have any recommendations to help me here? Especially with regards to hardware compatibility?

My plan software wise is to run Linux of some flavor, with LLNL's ZFS for Linux build.

Thanks so much for your help!

techiem2

Dabbler
I'm using a Norco DS-24E (just looked and I see the ER is the same but with redundant PSUs - nice) connected to an LSI 9200-8e controller. Dead simple setup. Throw the controller card in, plug the enclosure into it, throws drives in the enclosure.
The LSI will support up to 512 disks and is a full SAS/SATA 6Gb controller. They run about $350 and when I researched I couldn't find anything else anywhere near that price with the same specs.

zeamaize

Cadet
Hi Techiem2,

Wow, that LSI 9200-8e is a fantastic price. About half the price of the other cards I've been looking at.

What sort of system are you running on the front end? Any suggestions for disks? (I've been debating some inexpensive WD 4TB disks, as they're under $100/TB)