BUILD Sanity check on a new build

Status
Not open for further replies.

one800higgins

Dabbler
I'm new to the FreeNAS world, so I've been digging around the forums, the documentation, the helpful guides, and whatever blog posts I could find on the individual aspects that I want from my build. At this time, I have about half of the hardware already and the other half is expected in the mail in the coming days. I realize now that I should have made this post before finishing up my ordering, but I guess doing an unopened return now is better than making a critical error and discovering it down the road.

Background
For the last few years I've been running a RAID5 setup -- and yes, I've read your links to why that was dumb now -- in an external enclosure connected to an HTPC running Windows. The HTPC basically handled all operations and the enclosure just gave me a, um, dumb large array with basic redundancy.

During a recent storm I lost power and that enclosure's power supply bit the dust. I replaced the enclosure and for 2 days things seemed to go smoothly. On the 3rd day, it seems that something in the device chain seemingly forgot where data was stored and started overwriting existing data with new data... Corruption was obviously the next step. After running some data recovery tools, I could have salvaged a bit but since it was primarily a media server, it just wasn't worth the hassle.

Instead, I figured if it's time to start fresh, it's also time to upgrade. So, here I am.

The Needs
As a starting point, my immediate needs are pretty ordinary and I see that FreeNAS has plugins to handle all of my immediate needs:
  • Generic storage for OSX, Linux, and Windows machines
  • Back-ups primarily for OSX, but potentially for Linux and Windows machines as well
  • Plex video server
  • Music server
  • CouchPotato and torrent seeding