Sanity check before restoring from backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdiddy

Dabbler
So is it safe to assume that if i have replicated a pool to secondary physical volume, I can destroy my original volume, rebuild it, replicate the data back to the new primary from the secondary, and i will be back up and running? I have read through the docs, and read a few dozen posts about this topic, and this is my first time needing to restore from backup so I am quite nervous to pull the trigger. In case it matters, my .system is on a separate physical volume from either of the two i've been describing here.

cdiddy

Dabbler
I have not tried yet, but I will this week. I'll be sure to post here and let you know. Everything I have read seems to imply that yes, this is exactly what replication is for, and there is seemingly little info or documentation on it, because "of course it works and we shouldn't have to be more specific"... or something...

adrianwi

Guru
I've done this, and remember the same state of worry before clicking the button to destroy the pool on my primary pool! It all worked as I had expected, and even the jails 'just worked' after updating the configuration path.

cdiddy

Dabbler
So, after months of procrastinating I have decided to go ahead and do this... but FreeNAS wont let me destroy the pool because devices are busy. I've tried deleting jails, replication tasks, etc, to no avail. Any advice?

Last edited by a moderator:
D

dlavigne

How did you try to destroy the pool?

Also, which build version (System -> Information)?

wblock

Documentation Engineer
Make a full backup of everything before doing this.

Then see Detach Volume.

Don't overwrite data until the new volume is imported and verified.

cdiddy

Dabbler
How did you try to destroy the pool?

Also, which build version (System -> Information)?
The build is FreeNAS-11.1-U2.

below is what I THINK I learned NOT to do...