Refurbish old i7-2600 PC for TrueNAS to replace QNAP TS-451

alirezaayat

Cadet
Hi everyone, I am new to TrueNAS. I used a NETGEAR 2 bay 10 years ago (still have it for some backups) and since 7 years ago a QNAP TS-451 (with 4 WDRed4TB disks) that served me well, until I've been attacked by 2 ransomware attack, and lost more that I would have liked. It's time that I learn to properly setup and use my NAS and increase security.

First step: Local only NAS for Photos, Videos and documents. Videos are streamed to the PCs and TV on the local network. + monthly backup process on an external disk

(Second step: I plan to use the NAS for streaming to the cloud to replace, by this summer, my Google Photos and Drive services, meaning that I would like to the NAS to be synced to my Android phone's Photos and Videos. I want to have the NAS synced with another NAS through internet in another location)

In the QNAP I have 1 disk dead since last week, and I more will die soon (all purchased 7 years ago)

I managed to save some data lost due to ransomware on the QNAP, from backup up in Google Drive & Photos and on external disks). I just ordered 5 new Seagate Ironwolf disks, but I don't plan to put those in the QNAP but 4 for the for the TrueNAS built and 1 in my desktop to backup everything that I have left, in 1 new BKP disk until the TrueNAS is functional.

Here are the parts I plan to use:

_________Current Parts
- CPU : Intel Core i7-2600 3.4 GHz Quad-Core Processor
- CPU Cooler: Scythe Mugen 5 Rev. B 51.17 CFM CPU Cooler $49.99
- Motherboard:Asus P8Z68-V ATX LGA1155 Motherboard
- Memory: 16 GB - ADATA XPG V1.0 8 GB (4 x 4 GB) DDR3-1600 CL11 Memory
- Storage (Currently for Windows, Can be used for TrueNAS OS): SanDisk SSD PLUS 480 GB
- Power Supply: Silverstone Strider 750 W 80+ Silver Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply

_________NEW:
4 Seagate Ironwolf 8TB (purchased, will arrive soon)

_________I guess i don't need the following: