RAID-Z6 + Cache vs RAID-Z striped vs more RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

I am in the process of building myself a Fibre-Channel SAN to use with my ESXi hosts, along with some other stuff.
My plan is to use FreeNAS as an operating system.
This is my first time doing anything with FreeNAS, so please excuse some stupid questions or assumptions.

Here are some hardware specs of my machine:
Intel Xeon E5620
16GB DDR3 ECC RAM
12x 1TB HDDs

I have 8 1TB drives I want to use for the ESXi datastore, and I was planing to put them all into one big RAID-Z2. After doing some research I discovered, that the whole vdev will have the IOPS of a single drive, which is bad for virtualization.

That got me thinking, what would be a way around this issue.

Here are the three ideas I came up with:

- Use a SSD (probably 128GB) as a cache
- Add more RAM to my system
- Create two RAID-Z vdevs (with 4 drives each) and stripe them together, creating a RAID50 (more or less)

However, I am not exactly sure how to stripe those two vdevs together. I think I would put the two RAID-Z vdevs into one pool, right? Please correct me if I am wrong.

Which way do you guys think would be the better way to do this?

Thanks in advance!

mav@

iXsystems
iXsystems
Keep in mind that RAID-Z (especially wide) is efficient only for storing large data blocks, that is why it is not recommended for virtualization and generally block storage. Think again about using mirrored configuration if space permits.

If I ran it in mirrored, I would personally go ahead and create one big RAID10 across all twelve drives. (I am using "normal" RAID-names because it's easier for me to understand)
If I were to set the array up like that, how would that work in ZFS?
I guess I would create 2 striped vdevs across six drives each, and put them together in one pool, correct?
Thanks in advance!

mav@

iXsystems
iXsystems