Prospective FreeNAS Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Evan Shaw

Cadet
Hello, I am new to FreeNAS and NAS in general, and I have some questions concerning a prospective build. This build would be used for mostly a fileserver/webserver for photos and general storage.

http://pcpartpicker.com/list/XYFHBP

CPU: Intel i3 6100T - I chose this processor for its low power consumption, ECC support and upgradeability, but is FreeNAS compatible with Skylake? I couldn't find anything about its compatibility.

Motherboard: ASRock C236 WSI Mini ITX LGA1151 - I'm not really sure about ASRock, but this board looks pretty reliable, supports ECC, has 8 SATA controllers + Intel dual gigabit. Concerned with only 2 RAM slots though.

RAM: Kingston ValueRAM 1x16GB DDR4-2133 - Kingston is a pretty good brand, and 1x16 allows upgrades.

Storage: WD Red 3TB 5400RPM x5 - I plan on running 4 of these on RAID 6 (Z2?) with another one sitting on the shelf in case of failure, however, I've heard that RAID 10 is better, and I am considering both.

Case: Fractal Design Node 304 Mini ITX - Mini ITX case that is very small, but has lots of room for drives.

PSU: SeaSonic 360W 80+ Gold Certified ATX - SeaSonic is pretty good, and this would put power usage at maximum efficiency level.

Boot Disk: I actually have no idea what to do about this one. Some people use USBs and some people say that USB sucks in FreeNAS. Please recommend!

UPS: Preferably something small; I really don't know anything about UPS specs or brands that work with FreeNAS, open to suggestions.

tl;dr - Skylake compatibility? What RAID to use on 4x3TB? Boot disk and UPS/ general recommendations accepted.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Hello, I am new to FreeNAS and NAS in general, and I have some questions concerning a prospective build. This build would be used for mostly a fileserver/webserver for photos and general storage.

http://pcpartpicker.com/list/XYFHBP