Proposed home storage server - request for sanity check

Status
Not open for further replies.

jal

Dabbler
Howdy, folks. I have my evil plan, I think, and wanted to see if anyone was willing to critique it and point out the likely lurking dragons. For background, I'm a unix person doing devops professionally, used FreeBSD and Solaris extensively in the 90s, and since then most everything I use daily has become linux, aside from an OS X front end. I have no direct experience with FreeNAS yet, but have administered a few Netapp filers and largish NFS servers and a bunch of various more mundane office file server type things, and keep meaning to find something to do with FreeBSD again.

This setup is to serve my household, which includes a light computer user who stores a lot of photography and video, my archive of crap I've built or collected since I got out of school, and will serve a pile of machines which will become an Openstack cluster once this is running solidly and I can get around to it. (The openstack VMs will take over various functions, like running a build farm, lightly used mail service, some lightly used web apps I run for the extended family, "juke-box" iTunes service, and various temporary installs of things when I'm experimenting with new software. And probably something I'm forgetting.), There will be two of them, the plan being to sync them up after the initial build and then stick one in an office in a nearby town, and sync them over the net. No TV-related needs.

Anyway, hardware-wise, I'm looking at the ASRock C2750D4I motherboard, 32G (2x16) Crucial EEC RAM, leaving the option to go to 64 if need be, 6x WD Red 6TB disks, and the inevitable Sandisk thumb drive. All sitting in a Li Lian PC-Q08 case. The case seems to have a 2.5" slot in case an SSD for L2ARC makes sense someday, but from what I've read I kind of doubt it ever would.