ports are not ACTIVE on LAGG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrison

Dabbler
Hello,
Since updating to 11.1-U6 on our iXSystems (Supermicro) FreeNAS-Certified-4U with 4x NIC's +IPMI, there are continual critical warnings like this "CRITICAL: Aug. 25, 2018, 8:28 a.m. - These ports are not ACTIVE on LAGG interface lagg0: igb1, igb2, igb3. Please check cabling and switch."

I've tried removing the (LACP) lagg and rebuilding both via the GUI and terminal but the same warnings still appear.
Currently the GUI setup is like this:
upload_2018-8-25_10-5-48.png

The corresponding switch is a CISCO SG300 managed switch, which automatically detects the lagg. Current settings:

upload_2018-8-25_10-17-54.png

upload_2018-8-25_10-9-44.png

I've been running this exact same setup for the past same 4 years with out issue - till now.
Here's hoping someone has a little magic to share.
Thanks, Nick.

Harrison

Dabbler
Realised this issue may have been developing for a while as I've previously seen the NIC's going up/down like this:
Aug 25 08:51:50 WEINIGFS kernel: igb3: link state changed to DOWN
Aug 25 08:51:50 WEINIGFS kernel: igb2: link state changed to DOWN
Aug 25 08:51:54 WEINIGFS kernel: igb3: link state changed to UP
Aug 25 08:51:54 WEINIGFS kernel: igb2: link state changed to UP

Our small office network has about 20-30 people accessing the file server. I know someone may suggest deleting the lagg and running with just one NIC. I'm not an IT tech but that realy bugs me as regressive.

D

dlavigne

Does the error only occur on U6 or does it also occur if you reboot back into U5?

Harrison

Dabbler
Hi dlavigne, that may be what I have to do - I'll have to wait for a quiet time to try this. Never the less I'll report back on the results. Thanks for the suggestion.

Harrison

Dabbler
Well I've tried rebooting into U5 and there was no change. So I'm back at U6 and I've gone to just one NIC (yes, I'll eat my own words for an easy life!) so the lagg error has gone.