Poor write performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShaneJ

Cadet
Hi guys,

I have a FreeNAS build that I have been using for some time now for VMware VM storage without any problem however after trialing another storage product I'm starting to suspect that the NFS write performance I'm seeing from my FreeNAS isn't as good as it could or should be.

I have done some basic tests to try and identify the cause however I am a total noob and could do with a few pointers :|

First this is my hardware:

Supermicro X9DRi-F
2x E5-2620 CPU
128GB RAM (8x Hynix 16GB ECC Reg. DDR3 1600MHz)
2x 60GB Intel SSD 520s
LSI 9211-4i
Chelsio T420-CR NIC
LSI 9207-8e HBA attached to a 48 bay JBOD configured for multipathing

1st Volume:

8x 2TB Hitachi Ultrastar HUS723020ALS640 4 x 2 Mirrors
2x 240GB Intel S3500 Striped Cache
2x 100GB Intel S3700 Mirroed LOG

2nd Volume (an experiment):

5x 480GB Seagate 600 Pro ST480FP0021 2 x 2 Mirrors + spare

At this time to gather performance stats I have just been using Microsoft's SQLIO using the variables below in a VMware VM running on a SuperMicro blade connected directly to the FreeNAS via 10GB fibre.

2 threads writing for 120 secs to file e:\testfile.dat using 8KB random IOs
using specified size: 20480 MB for file: e:\testfile.dat

sqlio -kW -t8 -s120 -o8 -fsequential -b8 -BH -LS

Here are the results:

First two runs were with sync=standard

Datastore IOs/sec: MBs/sec:
1st Volume 357.1 2.78
1st Volume 364.63 2.84

2nd Volume 85.37 0.66
2nd Volume 85.32 0.66

Second two runs were with sync=disabled

1st Volume 1675.79 13.09
1st Volume 1642.71 12.83

2nd Volume 7143.41 55.8
2nd Volume 7792.43 60.87

I also performed a dd locally on both volumes:

1st Volume:

[root@FreeNAS] /mnt/01/ds01# dd if=/dev/zero of=ddfile bs=4k count=2000000
2000000+0 records in
2000000+0 records out
8192000000 bytes transferred in 24.427025 secs (335366258 bytes/sec)

2nd Volume:

[root@FreeNAS] /mnt/02/ds01# dd if=/dev/zero of=ddfile bs=4k count=2000000