Poor perfomance with ISCSI

jsawyer77

Dabbler
I am new to free NAS and have loaded version 11.2 to do some testing. Our iscsi perfomance is much worse then what we see on VM's running on an NFS share.With NFS we will see rights close to 580 - 650 MB on systems running iscsi we see write speeds in the 3 to 9MB.

dd if=/dev/zero of=/tmp/output conv=fdatasync bs=512k count=1k; rm -f /tmp/output
1024+0 records in
1024+0 records out
536870912 bytes (537 MB, 512 MiB) copied, 175.007 s, 3.1 MB/s

Any ideas why we maybe seeing such a drastic diffrence in write speed between the two?

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer

jsawyer77

Dabbler
Here are the specs on the system.

Mother board: supermicro SYS-1018R-WC0R
CPU is an intell xeon: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2603 v4 @ 1.70GHz
32 GB ECC RAM
8 7200 2 GB drives
one 256GB intel ssd drive I can use for zill or cache
2 64Gb usb drives setup in a mirror to boot

I currently have the pool set up with the all the drives in a raidZ2

Like I said NFS seems to be ok with the read and write but the iscsi is no good

I have looked over these documents and will check out the ones I have not.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
All of my comments are based on FreeNAS and ZFS, if you were using this hardware with a different operating system, these comments might not apply.
That is a really, REALLY slow processor. Six core, six thread, it doesn't even have hyper-threading. I wouldn't even try to use that. YMMV.
32 GB ECC RAM
ZFS uses RAM as cache for IO. This is probably not enough. I have 64GB on each of my home system and 256GB in the systems I manage for work. I think this is going to need to be revised.
I currently have the pool set up with the all the drives in a raidZ2