NT4 Auth

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmerlone

Cadet
Hi,

I have a samba3 domain controller on my network. I'd like FreeNAS 9.1.1 to join this domain so users could map freenas shares using their actual account from samba3. I have set all 6 fileds regarding NT auth, but seems like nothing has been done. Restarted CIFS service but no luck. Tried to join domain from command line but:

[root@freenas ~]# export LOGNAME=root
[root@freenas ~]# net rpc join -S pdcserver
cannot join as standalone machine
[root@freenas ~]#

Any hint?

hraynor

Dabbler
I had problems similar to you in prior versions of FreeNAS, though this has been fixed since 9.1 for me.

However, I think what you need is to put the following under "Auxiliary Parameters" under CIFS:

Code:
security = domain
password server = <Name or IP of your PDC>

IMHO there should be GUI options to specifically ask for this information, especially if Directory Service is set to NT4.

Incidently, (in case you haven't already) you'll need to go into Settings->General and set "Directory Service" to NT4 of course...

BTW - with 9.1.x you should NOT have to use net rpc join from the shell if you do the above. In 8.3.x I had all sorts of trouble getting FreeNAS to join the domain and tried everything from the shell (with partial success).

Note: I'm using ClearOS Community 6.4 which is using Samba Version 3.6.10-1.v6 (wbinfo -V)

Hope this helps!
Brian

mmerlone

Cadet
Some more background information: this box was upgraded from FreeNAS 8.x, which was (unsuccessfully) configured to use OpenLDAP as auth database. After upgrade I noticed there is now a NT4 option. Even later I read somewhere that one cannot have more than one auth database and once configured, there is no how to config another one. Tried to wipe all settings regarding auth on gui and fresh start but no avail.
Am now considering throwing away everything and reinstall FreeNAS, which is ridiculous. Any hint?

hraynor

Dabbler