No Internet from within jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcelo Ruiz

Dabbler
Hi community!
I am a noob evaluating purchasing a FreeNas Mini (I know it has the right hardware and will avoid headaches in that department).
Before committing myself to spend around $2000, I decided to get a taste of Freenas and I installed it in Virtualbox (I am running the virtual machine with 7 Gb of RAM, the maximum I could afford to give it with my computer but that is far more than videos posted by iXsystems running Virtualbox with just 2.5 Gb and doing much more than just trying to install nano in a Jail) to test it and see if it could fit what I need. My biggest reason to test it was to learn whether a sales agent from iXsystems was right when he assured Prestashop could not be installed or was mistaken (users in this forums believe that it is in fact possible because a package for FreeBSD 9 exists).
Unfortunately I am stuck with no Internet access from within a standard jail. I followed tutorials to create it, configure DHCPv4 in both FreeNas and the jail, and the only address I could ping from within the Jail is the FreeNas installation.
From the host system I could open a terminal and connect to the Jail via SSH with no problems (so DHCP is working and there is connectivity), but if I try to run a package update before attempting the installation of any application I face the following problem:

# pkg update -f
Updating FreeBSD repository catalogue...
pkg: http://pkg.FreeBSD.org/FreeBSD:9:amd64/latest/meta.txz: No address record
pkg: repository FreeBSD has no meta file, using default settings
pkg: http://pkg.FreeBSD.org/FreeBSD:9:amd64/latest/packagesite.txz: No address record
pkg: Unable to update repository FreeBSD​

After checking the contents of resolv.conf within the jail I can see my router's IP address as the nameserver (as it should be). I do have access to the Internet from FreeNas, and it can even ping resolving internet names with no problem.