NFSv4 ZFS ACLs to allow 2 users to work on the same file over NFS

Status
Not open for further replies.

terminator14

Cadet
I have been using FreeNAS for a few months now as a RAIDZ for my 6x2TB drives. It's worked pretty good so far, but on several occasions, I have run into permission problems (mainly using NFS). In the past, whenever this would happen, I would simply SSH into FreeNAS and manually chmod/chown files and folders to fix the permission problems. Recently, I started looking into how to solve these problems for good. My setup is this:

The FreeNAS box, and the clients are all located at my home, so security is not a big concern for me, though I would prefer a real solution that could work in a production environment over a hack job.
My volumes look like this:

Code:
Main Volume: vm
It's path: /mnt/vm
Note: ZFS, RaidZ, Consists of all 6 HDDs

ZFS Dataset of main Volume: private
It's path: /mnt/vm/private
Permissions/Ownership: Set to root/nfs 775 (see below for explanation)
Note: This is the volume I'm doing all the testing with

So the problem I'm facing is this:

I have a Linux machine and a Macbook Pro, both of which mount the same volume (/mnt/vm/private) through NFS. Both have the user 'tal', but the users' UID/GIDs are NOT the same. This fact, combined with the fact that by default, a file created on /mnt/vm/private over NFS will have the default permissions of 644, means that if I create a file on the volume with my Mac, I cannot write to it from my linux box.