NFSv4 + Kerberos Problem

tfili

Dabbler
Hi,

after upgrade from 11.2-U7 to 11.3 i noticed a problem. The sharing with nfsv4 + krb5 does not work any longer.
I have some experience with this topic, so i found gssd will not started until "Require Kerberos for NFSv4" is active.
This breaks the non kerberos shares, because in the first line /etc/exports the sys entry is missing.

I also test this on a fresh 11.3 installation and found a second problem. I created some datasets for sharing and force kerberos for nfsv4:

pool/share/home
pool/share/home/staff
pool/share/home/staff/user

All three datasets are shared with nfsv4 + krb5 ... I am able to mount pool/share/home on the client and i am able to change into staff but not deeper into user

Is anybody able to confirm this behaviour ?

Regards,

KrisBee

Wizard
AFAIK the anwser to your question about those three datasets and what you can access after mounting "pool/share/home" is that each dataset must be considered as a separate filesystem. Check which filesystems are exported on FreeNAS, e.g mount | grep exported . You might be able to enter "staff", but does an "ls" within that directory return an io error on your client?

In the case of a fresh 11.3 install choosing the various options as below appear to create the correct export file as shown by cat /etc/exports

Enable NFSv4checkboxSet to switch from NFSv3 to NFSv4. The default is NFSv3.
NFSv3 ownership model for NFSv4checkboxGrayed out unless Enable NFSv4 is selected and, in turn, grays out Support>16 groups which is incompatible. Set this option if NFSv4 ACL support is needed without requiring the client and the server to sync users and groups.
Require Kerberos for NFSv4checkboxSet to force NFS shares to fail if the Kerberos ticket is unavailable.
Surely, you would expect both gssd and nfsuserd to be running only if you choose NFSv4 + kerberos in the NFS service config. They are not needed if you choose NFSv4 + NFSv3 ownership model.