New with FreeNAS and plugins (Plex)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johev

Contributor
Dear FreeNASers,

I am new to FreeNAS, as I have recently built my first NAS machine.
DELL T20 (E3-1225v3, 12GB ECC (4+8), 3x4TB Seagate Surveillance + 1TB (drive that came with the server)
FreeNAS installed on a 32GB SanDisk USB 3

I have tested the HDDs, ECC RAM and CPU and everything looks nice and stable.
All my CIFS shares are finally working correctly with read/write whenever I am logged correctly.

My issue is with the plugins. So far I was not able to get any of them working.

FreeNAS 9.3 stable (all updates done)
Plex 0.9.12.3.1173

PLEX:

I have followed most of the tutorials that I could find.

My setup is the following:
FreeNAS side:
Accounts:
name: media
group: media
path: /mnt/v1/media
No password necessary: YES
(permissions selected read/write/execute for other)

My volume is called "v1"
mnt/v1/plexmediaserver_1
mnt/v1/.warden-template-pluginjail--x64 (no clue what this is - can I delete it without affecting Plex?)
mnt/v1/media (changed permissions so that other can write/copy things into it)

CIFS share:
media
path: /mnt/v1/media
Use as home share: NO (un-ticked)
Apply default permissions: YES (ticked)
Allow Guest Access: YES (ticked)

Add Storage for Plex
Jail: plexmediaserver_1
Source: /mnt/v1/media
Destination: /media
Read-Only: NO (un-ticked)
Create directory: YES (ticked)
Mounted? YES (ticked)

Now I am able to use the File Explorer and create folders and copy videos to the CIFS share "media". However when I go to Plex and I try to add a folder, I can only see the folders inside the plex jail.
I am unable to select the CIFS share "media" or any other network folder other than the "media folder in Plex jail".