New to FreeNAS... Will my old computer suffice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

drew_p13

Cadet
Hey all,

So I'm brand new to FreeNAS. I bought a pair of WD Red 3TB NAS drives to throw in my old gaming build to create a server for storing pictures and videos, mainly. I was also planning on using the Plex plugin to run a media server.

I got the server up and running, but as soon as I move any data over I get a lot of errors. From my research so far, it appears as if one of my drives is faulty, and I just wanted to post here to make sure that it's not any of my other hardware.

CPU: AMD FX-8320
Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0
RAM: Kingston Black 8GB (2 x 4GB, DDR3-1600, CAS 9, non-ECC)
Boot Drive: Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
Storage Drives: 2 x Western Digital Red 3TB NAS
Video Card: Asus Radeon R9 270
Power Supply: EVGA 500W 80+ Bronze

styno

Patron
Can you provide the SMART stats from both disks?

NAS-Plus

Explorer
I can certainly understand you wanting to re-purpose existing hardware. You mentioned that it was a gaming rig. The ideal hardware for a gaming rig and a FreeNAS server are often different. Asus is not on the recommended list of motherboards. Intel processors are preferred over AMD. ECC memory is preferred over non-ECC. Since video is not a requirement on most FreeNAS servers the basic embedded motherboard video is often used in lieu of an external video card.

There is a very helpful pdf document found here:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?resources/hardware-recommendations-guide.12

Last edited by a moderator:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I got the server up and running, but as soon as I move any data over I get a lot of errors. From my research so far, it appears as if one of my drives is faulty, and I just wanted to post here to make sure that it's not any of my other hardware.
There is also this resource for troubleshooting drives:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...bleshooting-guide-all-versions-of-freenas.17/
and