New FreeNAS new setup questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekyink

Cadet
New to FreeNAS as of this week, and I like what I have read so far! Looks like a great community of developers and engineers. I have read the manual and scoured these forums. All situations are different and I am hoping to get some specific recommendations on my needs. Mildly familiar with Linux, but let's just assume I am a newbie all around.

Needs: AFP (sometimes SMB/NFS) file servers with large amounts of storage with some redundancy. Currently I require about 70Tb of production space and then will need to backup the production and have additional snapshot/incremental backup space. My 100 users read/write from the file servers about 10 hours a day with your standard Office/Adobe applications.

Hardware: I have inherited 7 SuperMicro rack mount servers that are all about 32Gb RAM, Dual Intel® 64-bit Xeon 8 CORE with Intel 6port Ethernet cards and Adaptec 5805 RAID cards. Each have 24 4Tb Segate drives for about 90Tb of storage each. I also have plenty of HP 3500 switching equipment for possible ISCSI implementations (although not familiar with that technology either).

Questions:
I understand that I am better off using ZFS (RAIDZ2 I think) instead of the Adaptec RAID controllers. However, I haven't found a clear answer on if I should setup each server as JBOD or just use the Adaptec as a straight SATA controller instead. Any other advantage/disadvantage of the hardware raid cards I am missing, as I already have them? This is my biggest question currently as I don't want to get this part wrong as it affects everything else.

We frequently have to add space to our file servers, so I want to set them up in the best possible way to allow me to incrementally add space (SAN, ZFS?) so it is an easier process and I don't have to move so much data around each time.