New & first TrueNAS Scale build

lv8pv

Cadet
Hi new to the forum and my first post.

I'm in the process of setting up a TrueNAS Scale (named truenas1)

The disks I have are the following.
1x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (for the OS)
4 x 4gb New, Seagate Ironwolf
2 x 4gb 1 year old, Seagate Enterprise Exos

What disk/raid setup would be the best for this ?

I'm a wildlife photographer and have lots of RAW photo and edited photos that CAN NOT be lost.

For now I will be using this TrueNAS (truenas1) as backup for the data/images I have on my working PC. I'm using AOMEI Backupper to backup from my working PC too the (truenas1)

A little later when I can afford more disks (I have the hardware) I will be setting up a second TrueNAS Scale (truenas2) When I do that, my plan is to get away from having the images stored on my working PC with backup too (truenas1) and use (truenas1) as working storage with backup to (truenas2).

My knowledge on these matters are sparse, so tips are much welcomed.

Depending on how (truenas1) will be setup (taking into account my end goal, and tips from this group) what number and size disks should I get for the future (truenas2)

Hope this was somewhat clear
1f60a.png
Thanks for reading this.

Arwen

MVP
From your post, you just need a SMB share to your PC. SMB prefers fast CPU over more cores. Keep that in mind.

The size of the boot device needs to be 16GB or larger, (though I would suggest at least 32GB today). So unless your Samsung 850 EVO 500GB is free / unused and hanging around, then don't buy such a large one.

When using large disks, (>1TB), it is suggested to not use RAID-Z1, (similar to, but not quite the same as RAID-5). With RAID-Z2 you can loose any 2 disks and not experience any data loss. With just 6 disks, the even more secure RAID-Z3 is not suggested because 1/2 of the disks / storage is used for parity.