Motherboard Architecture (Heavy-Sided DP Boards)

Zepher8062

Cadet
Howdy everyone! I've been casually getting back into the zone with server systems as of late with my free time (thanks covid!) but I am running across some head-scratchers that I cant just seem to ... well stop scratching my head about. I don't consider myself a rookie, but I definitely get lost in some of the terminology, so maybe I can get some pointers in the right direction. I'm not good at writing, so I apologize if this turns lengthy.

I have a VM server that I would like to eventually have its VMs hosted separately from the main box on a storage unit. Later on I will add SSD/NVMS cards and set a pool up for that, but for now I just want to get a mechanical array up for general site storage. Here come my TrueNAS box. I already have a Supermicro X10DRI as my mobo for the VMS, and I like it very much. After doing more research for the NAS box, I ended up deciding that the same board would be sufficient, and it wasn't too expensive either. Apart from only having a dual 1Gb NIC, it was a good choice, but I can grab a used dual-port 10Gb NIC for about $50. However, now the market prices are all wonky because of the pandemic and my options have changed. I like to buy new equipment (warranty purposes) but am not opposed to used/refurbed. Looking around eBay I found another option but I am worried about the architecture. I have never built a full-blown NAS before (just hobby stuff), and although I don't plan to push it enterprise-hard, I don't want to have any problems.

Here are three boards I am contemplating.