Media + File backup server need

shetu

Dabbler
Hello
I try to build a home Plex Media (3/4 user) and file backup server (2 pc and 1 laptop). I have little knowledge about hardwar. What is best budget home Freenas server now?
Due to budget problem I purchase server parts monthly bessis. I bought cpu from my country then motherboard and ram import from Amazon.
CPU : Intel® Core™ i3-8100 Processor
MB: Supermicro Micro ATX DDR4 LGA 1151 Motherboards X11SSM-F-O
RAM: Kingston Technology ValueRAM 16GB 2400MHz DDR4 ECC CL17 DIMM 2Rx8 Desktop Memory (KVR24E17D8/16)

Stevie_1der

Explorer
Hello!

The i3-8100 is a "Coffee Lake" CPU with socket LGA1151v2, but the Supermicro X1SSM-F has a 1151 socket and a C236 chipset, and doesn't support the i3-8100.
For Coffee Lake CPUs, you would have to buy a mainboard with LGA 1151v2 socket and C242 or C246 chipset like for example the X11SCH-F or X11SCL-F.
But these boards are brand new, and I don't know if they already are available in your country.

Hi Shetu. If budget is a primary concern it is a good idea to get used equipment if you can find it. You can get a lot more performance for your money buying used.

If you want a plex server and you need to do any transcoding the cpu is important. Before you purchase more parts it might be good to figure out exactly what you want the machine to do so you can find the best budget hardware for that.

I try to build a home Plex Media (3/4 user)
Do you know if you will need to do any transcoding? And if so, at what resolution? You can use a CPUs PassMark score to work out whether it will transcode at the level you need. You might also want to check out more information on Plex and transcoding. Specifically, the part below . . .

Media that is incompatible with your device will be transcoded to a playable format. The process is automatic and you don’t need to worry about specific details. However, there are some things that happen during transcoding that deserve your consideration.